Editorial project manager – CWT Advertising & Co’m
Snapchat is looking to roll out a new feature that would remind users to review their friend lists. Users can then delete people they no longer wish to be associated with …
Snapchat favors true friends
Dubbed “Friend Check Up,” this new tool will notify users to check their friend lists to see if they would like to delete someone. It will first launch on Android from March 2021, then will be operational on iOS thereafter. A new feature unveiled just in time for Safer Internet Day, February 9, 2021.
The purpose of this tool is to help you remove any users you might have accidentally added, as well as those you just don’t want on your friends list anymore. This little reminder is also a great security feature, as you might unknowingly give some users access to important data.
Snapchat improves security
At the same time, Snapchat announced its partnership with Connect Safely in the US and ChildNet in the UK to display educational filters. Dragging these filters up will link you to the relevant organization’s Internet security resources.
Additionally, Snapchat is expanding its integration with Crisis Text Line in the US and plans to launch a similar feature in the UK. The platform is also working with The Trevor Project to provide integrated resources for LGBTQ youth.